The Mysteries of the Rosary Catholic Rosary

What are the Mysteries of the Rosary? [Guide to Praying the Mysteries]

The Mysteries Of The Rosary

A fruitful way to pray the rosary is to meditate on important events in the lives of Jesus and Mary. Twenty of these moments are captured in what we call the mysteries of the rosary. These mysteries are grouped into four sets: joyful, luminous, sorrowful, and glorious. Each set of mysteries is prayed on specific days of the week.

As you meditate on these events, let the words of the prayers float by like a background rhythm. Focus less on the words and more on the mysteries. Get lost in the scene. Imagine yourself there. Each of the mysteries of the rosary can teach you a valuable lesson about life, love, and God’s dream for you. You can even use scripture to help bring you into the biblical scene. 

Want to go further in learning about the Rosary? Learn from the five best Rosary Youtube videos. 

The Joyful Mysteries

(Prayed on Mondays and Saturdays)

  1. The Annunciation - Mary learns that she has been chosen to be the mother of Jesus.
  2. The Visitation - Mary visits Elizabeth, who tells her that she will always be remembered.
  3. The Nativity - Jesus is born in a stable in Bethlehem.
  4. The Presentation - Mary and Joseph take the infant Jesus to the Temple to present him to God.
  5. The Finding of Jesus in the Temple - Jesus is found in the Temple discussing his faith with the teachers.

More about the Joyful Mysteries.

The Sorrowful Mysteries

(Prayed on Tuesdays and Fridays)

  1. The Agony in the Garden - Jesus prays in the Garden of Gethsemane on the night before he dies.
  2. The Scourging at the Pillar - Jesus is lashed with whips.)
  3. The Crowning With Thorns - Jesus is mocked and crowned with thorns.)
  4. The Carrying of the Cross - Jesus carries the cross that will be used to crucify him.
  5. The Crucifixion - Jesus is nailed to the cross and dies.)

More about the Sorrowful Mysteries

The Glorious Mysteries

(Prayed on Wednesdays and Sundays)

  1. The Resurrection - God the Father raises Jesus from the dead.
  2. The Ascension - Jesus returns to his Father in heaven.
  3. The Coming of the Holy Spirit - The Holy Spirit comes to bring new life to the disciples.
  4. The Assumption of Mary - At the end of her life on earth, Mary is taken body and soul into heaven.
  5. The Coronation of Mary - Mary is crowned as Queen of Heaven and Earth.

More about the Glorious Mysteries. 

The Luminous Mysteries

(Prayed on Thursdays)

  1. The Baptism of Jesus in the River Jordan - God proclaims that Jesus is his beloved Son.
  2. The Wedding Feast at Cana - At Mary’s request, Jesus performs his first miracle.
  3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God - Jesus calls all to conversion and service to the Kingdom.
  4. The Transfiguration of Jesus - Jesus is revealed in glory to Peter, James, and John.
  5. The Institution of the Eucharist - Jesus offers his Body and Blood at the Last Supper.

More on the Luminous Mysteries.  


How to memorize the Mysteries of the Rosary

The best way to think about the Mysteries as a pattern, with Sunday and the Glorious Mysteries in the center.

Sunday Rosary: Glorious


Then on each side of the Sunday are the Joyful Mysteries.

Saturday Rosary: Joyful

Sunday Rosary: Glorious

Monday Rosary: Joyful

The next sides are the Sorrowful Mysteries.

Friday Rosary: Sorrowful

Saturday Rosary: Joyful

Sunday Rosary: Glorious

Monday Rosary: Joyful

Tuesday Rosary: Sorrowful

And the final sides to add are the Glorious Mystery on Wednesday and the Luminous Mystery on Thursday.

Thursday Rosary: Luminous

Friday Rosary: Sorrowful

Saturday Rosary: Joyful

Sunday Rosary: Glorious

Monday Rosary: Joyful

Tuesday Rosary: Sorrowful

Wednesday Rosary: Glorious

Each time you prepare to pray the Rosary, you can start with Sunday and the Glorious Mysteries, and then count to today. It's an easy way to memorize and pray with the Mysteries. Happy praying!

Luminous - Sorrowful - Joyful - Glorious - Joyful - Sorrowful - Glorious

Go deeper? Learn how to meditate with the mysteries of the Rosary. 

Printable PDF - The Mysteries of the Rosary 

Download here


The Rosary Card - Built For Convenience

As you learn to pray the Rosary, check out our Rosary Cards. They are designed for convenience (same size as a Credit Card) and make it much easier to pray the Rosary often. 

See more options here.


Please let me know how your journey with the Rosary is going, I'd love to hear from you. Send me a message an email at:

Need a Rosary to get started? Check out our Wallet Rosary Cards. It'll make sure you are never without the Rosary.

Get inspired by our daily Rosary quotes: Instagram

And don't forget about our free Rosary Guide Download. Keep Praying! 

Comments 0

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published